Talking With Gods and Zombies

Panel  1: A shadowed silhouette of a man, standing against a dark wall. His ghosts weigh on the back of his suit jacket, but he does not let it show. A glint of light frames the sunglasses resting on his Scottish nose.

It seems as if he is waiting for something, yet as the dull roar of noise slows down to something more comprehensible, a voice starts filtering through, heralding his fame, his achievements, his status.

The Rock Star of Comics.

MR. GRANT MORRISON

Panel 2: The scene pans to a ComiCon panel, and GRANT is walking, not confidently, but not meekly either. He walks as he is muddling through the surprise of it all, and is slowly accepting that this is reality for him. The reality where he made magic happen.

In front of him is a legion of fans, all cheering at his arrival on stage.

The scene is still set in greyscale, all black, white, and grey.

Panel 3: We are behind GRANT, looking into the crowd. In attempts to thank everyone for everything, GRANT lets out a gem of a statement in his distinct Scottish brogue:  “I’ll try to show my thanks in form of interpretive dance.”

Panel 4: We see him dancing awkwardly, but his demeanour shows no self-consciousness.

A TOTAL FREE SPIRIT.

IN A SUIT.

I went and watched Talking With Gods last Friday at ACMI, and a friend of mine asked me to write a review on… so you can read the rest of it here.

I’m not really a huge fan of Grant Morrison, though thats not to say that I don’t like his work. I love 52 (though that was more of a collaborative effort), and WE3. I have yet to read Batman: R.I.P. and Final Crisis (because I’m falling behind on Green Lantern and Blackest Night and I want to follow those because those have ramifications on the rest of the DCU), I started reading the Invisibles at one point (I dunno why I stopped), and I read half of his run on Animal Man. I have his gig on Kid Eternity with Duncan Fedrego (oooo, he did several things for Doctor Who… must find).

Its more of a case of his fame precedes him, you know more about him than his actual work (though if you consider yourself a comics fan, you should read at least one of his works). You hear about how so up on hallucinogens he is, trying to get that same feeling of that vision in Kathmandu that even Warren Ellis is scared of him – a rumour, to be sure. Morrison does talk about his relationship on hallucinogens, but only in the context that he was slowly becoming the character he was writing in the Invisibles , King Mob/Gideon Stargrave.

His reasoning was that when he wrote, he always wrote from his own experiences, his experiences in life. So when he had to write this outgoing and extravagant persona, he had to live it himself. It all came to a point where in a part of the story where King Mob was suffering from an illness in the comic, Morrison himself fell terribly ill and underwent non-drug induced hallucinations in which he says something along the lines of , “I saw this figure of Jesus standing in my doorway tellin’ me to ‘Spread the Light.’. Who the fuck knows what that means.”

The fact that it seems as if Morrison’s entire life was influenced by magic (something he now calls his reality), it seems unbelievable. You might end up just thinking that its just another fictional story coming from his pen, a script to be sent to Frank Quietly or Jill Thompson. You might… if he didn’t have friends and biographers that corroborated his tales.

Since my last entry, I’ve also been playing Left 4 Dead 2 on Steam. Normally, I’m not really one to play games with Zombies, and I had enough FPSs to catch up on. Since I had a new laptop that was capable of playing decent games, and then over the Christmas Season there was a Steam Sale, I went and bought myself a bunch of games and half of  them are still waiting to be played. Several of my friends have been bugging me to get Left 4 Dead 2 to play with them, and eventually I caved in and started playing.

19 hours later I’m still playing, and yesterday I was walking back to the office doing my errands, and heard the “Doot Doot” of a car alarm being prepped. My first thought was “Careful of that car.”, and my second thought was “Oh god, Left 4 Dead 2. /facepalm”. I’ve been playing too much, but there’s just too much fun to be had whacking zombies in the face with a frying pan. And a Cricket Bat (yes, I need to watch Shaun of the Dead). And an electric Guitar.

Now, if only I had good internet to play on…

Leave a Reply

