Of Kitties and Broomsticks

Lets go do this chronologically. For the first part I’ll be talking about Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows movie, so for those who haven’t watched it and wish to not be spoiled, I suggest you scroll down until you see drawings. Thats the beginning of the second part.

Yesterday evening, went to go see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part one. Now, laugh at me if you wish, but I didn’t even realise they had made a book on book 6 already.

I blame my isolationist stand about a year and a half ago due to not being able to do much else for lack of a job.

But anyway, last night I went out with Michael, and our mutual friend Michael. Its about every bit as confusing as it sounds to the uninformed. Our friend, we call Mick, and Mick calls my Michael by his last name. Anyway.

We went out to go watch Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, with only myself and Mick having actually read the book. Its not as if I’m demeaning people watching a movie adaptation without reading the book (or playing the game) first, abut I usually feel like they’re missing out on half the fun.

Then again, Michael cannot understand my enjoyment of deconstructing movies (or any form of media I watched) afterwards. Note that “deconstructing” whatever it is I just read/watched/played, is me taking a trip to TVTropes. (Mwahahaha, I have linked TVTropes, I have ruined your life)

But anyway. They have left out a lot from the book, which is understandable – they have to make a pragmatic adaptation. You’re talking about a 607 page book (Bloomsbury Hardcover) to be made into a 2 and a half hour film while keeping in mind whatever plot threads that the previous movies have left out as well. I was slightly disappointed that they had left out the the whole R.A.B. storyline and subsequent fleshing out of Kreacher, but again, pragmatic adaptation. Are those absolutely essential to tell the overall story? No. It’s a shame, but again, in order to squeeze a 600 page book filled to the brim with information its not ultimately required to tell the story of Harry Potter himself.

On thing though I did not enjoy about the movie was the over use of a jitter cam. I suppose they used it excessively to give the feeling that we the viewers were meant to actually be there with Potter, Weasley, and Granger, shaky and on the run. Fugitives from the Ministry. Unfortunately for this troper viewer it wasn’t all that effective. In the end the jitter cam was an annoyance to me that I wished would go away like strong wind that whipped your hair around when you’re trying to walk somewhere.

The film ends a little over half way through the book, which is understandable since majority of the action takes place in the latter half and all that time in the first part of the book is just merely spent trekking and planning. Easily cut out or merged with something else.

Epic Wizard Battles? Eh lets just devote a whole movie to it and enjoy the eye candy and spectacle.

Yes, those are cats.

They’re one portion of Harvey James’ Choose a Cat, Draw a Girl community project, which I have taken a part of.

Below are my contributions so far:

There’s just something inexplicably enjoyable for me in drawing anthropomorphic things. Why though?

What is the draw of humanising things that aren’t human? We have the OS-tans calling back from 2004 -2005, Pokemon Gijinka, Hetalia Axis Powers, Strikewitches, and of course your staple cat-girls. What is the deal?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll be drawing some more cat to girl drawings.

2 thoughts on “Of Kitties and Broomsticks

  1. Kenny says:

    I’m actually pretty ignorant about most of Harry Potter anyways but….jitter cam seems kind of out of place for a Harry Potter flick.

    I don’t have an issue with the practice itself but I think it’s abused too much in movies nowadays. I think alot of action sequences in various movies are actually ruined because of it (the Jet Li vs Dolph Lundgren fight in The Expendables being my go-to example, along with the 2nd Bourne movie).

    • Janina says:

      I know, right? There’s just something -off- about having jitter cam in a Harry Potter film. Even when its a supposedly quiet scene of Harry having morning tea, they’ve added a little jitter when he finds a newspaper.

Leave a Reply

